News & Events


​Prof Ng has received the biennial Singapore Energy Award (SEA) – Innovation Category

Published on: 24-Oct-2017


23 October 2017 (Monday)

Prof Ng has received the biennial Singapore Energy Award (SEA) – Innovation Category.

​The Singapore Energy Award is recognition for outstanding organisations/individuals who have made specific and sustained contributions to drive technological and business innovations in Singapore’s energy sector. Along with Prof Ng, Mr Tang Kin Fei, Former Group President and CEO of Sembcorp Industries was also awarded the SEA – Contributions to the Energy Sector category.

The biennial SEA was presented by Ms Sim Ann, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth & Ministry of Trade and Industry at the Singapore International Energy Week (SIEW 2017).

Being recognised by this Award is “an incredible honour and a validation of my research career after all these years", said Professor Ng. "Nonetheless, my work has never felt like a job as I have always been passionate about energy and the environment, and relish every opportunity to contribute to the development of Singapore’s energy sector. With the growing focus on sustainable energy, waste-to-energy and its related technologies will only increase in importance. I am excited by the many upcoming developments in the sector, and am proud to be playing my part in moulding Singapore’s future energy workforce.”

EMA Chief Executive Ng Wai Choong said: “Both Mr Tang and Professor Ng have contributed significantly in making our energy sector more vibrant and dynamic in their own different ways. They are excellent role models and an inspiration to many of us in the energy sector. I hope that nominations for the Singapore Energy Award will continue to grow, as we have seen in this round, to recognise deserving contributors who have made a difference to the sector.”

The next SEA will be held in 2019. 

Back to listing